The Royal Bedchamber
Mise en Place
11.13.03 ~ 00:00

I have been growing increasingly nervous regarding Thanksgiving over the past few weeks. In past years, I had a basic menu hammered out by now, and allowed myself time to add and remove recipes as my whims demanded.

This year, for some unknown reason, that did not happen. For that matter, it is entirely possible that in past years I decided my menu three days before Thanksgiving and I only delude myself now, with false memories of my own organizational skills.

Nevertheless, this year? It is done. Shiv came over and we had a hard-core strategizing session, printing recipes like mad and wielding Sharpie pens and glasses of our Yellow Tail Shiraz-Cab blend with aplomb and little regard for safety. The menu has been created, and I present it to you here, now.

Thanksgiving breakfast for the chefs:

Holiday quiche -- hash brown crust, swiss and pepper jack cheeses, and sliced ham
Coffee
Orange juice

Appetizers

Vodka-spiked red and yellow cherry tomatoes
Winter fruit chutney (with oranges, cranberries, pears, figs, raisins, ginger, and apple)
Cheddar-stuffed mushrooms with walnuts, parsley, Worchestershire, and cognac
Sushi rolls (peanut or avocado) courtesy of Shiv

Main course

Herb-roasted turkey with shallot pan gravy (and the best under-the-skin herb-butter rub you've ever seen)
Vermouth-roasted garlic and mascarpone cheese mashed Yukon Gold potatoes
Bourbon cranberry sauce
Jerusalem artichoke and sage gratin
Ambrosia salad, because I cannot have Thanksgiving without it
Stuffing courtesy of Little Owl
Mushroom and onion gratin with Gruyere cheese
Sauteed mushrooms and leeks, courtesy of the Neff
Buttered brussels sprouts, because I adore them
Sweet potatoes that were clearly concocted by the GODS, courtesy of Shiv
Green and white asparagus with parmesan cheese
Butternut squash gratin with rosemary breadcrumbs

Dessert

40-proof pumpkin pie, courtesy of Shiv
Carrot cake, courtesy of Shiv
Bailey's Irish Cream cheesecake
Vanilla-pear clafoutis
and a Chocolate-bourbon tart with currants and orange-custard sauce.

So, yes. It seems that I might have my hands full. Next step: scheduling the order of preparation, figuring what I can make beforehand, and working out in what order dishes need to be added to and removed from the oven.

All day today I was in a horrible mood. I went from tired to grumpy to worried to annoyed to grumpy to pissed off. As soon as I got home, I started making dinner -- a vegetable cobbler with a scallion-biscuit top -- and the second my knife bit into a potato, everything seemed all right again. This is how I want my life to be.


Antique ~~~~~~~~~~~~ Modern

Recent Fulminations:
04.25.2004 ~ So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye
04.22.2004 ~ Pulling up stakes
04.20.04 ~ If There Were Any Doubt
04.19.04 ~ Is It Morning Already??
04.19.04 ~ Tedium
Site Meter