The Royal Bedchamber
Gnocchi From Heaven
04.01.03 ~ 14:34

So I just got lunch at a place around the corner. It has a Mongolian BBQ, sushi, salad bar, soups, sandwiches, fresh bakey things, and a hot steam table, and a cold table with things like avocado salad, or steamed asparagus. Basically, your everyday lunch deli, except a tiny bit fancier.

I had been hit by some strange overwhelming desire for meatloaf, which was odd primarily in that I have never before in my life had a meatloaf-craving. Happily, they had something loaf-y (which I suspect may have been turkey loaf) that I put in my steam-table-container. And I added some beef stew, in cast the meatloaf wasn't actually beef (as appears to have been the case). And just for good measure, I threw in a bit of some green, presumably spinach, gnocchi.

The loaf was fine. The stew was okay. But oh my salty jesus, this is very possibly the best gnocchi I have ever eaten. I am completely stunned by this turn of events -- the pasta itself is perfectly cooked, and extra buttery, and is filled with something cheesy, and covered with a very light spinachy sauce, and I honestly think I may go back to get another dish of just the gnocchi.

Sometimes. Sometimes the best surprises come from the unlikeliest of places.


Antique ~~~~~~~~~~~~ Modern

Recent Fulminations:
04.25.2004 ~ So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye
04.22.2004 ~ Pulling up stakes
04.20.04 ~ If There Were Any Doubt
04.19.04 ~ Is It Morning Already??
04.19.04 ~ Tedium
Site Meter