The Royal Bedchamber
Subconscious Wishes
11.14.03 ~ 15:25

Everybody, listen up: I need you all to invent something for me.

Ask around, friends, neighbors, parents, atc. See if anyone has any ideas on how to build a Dream Recorder, would you? I am really in quite dire need of one. I am convinced that if I had a Dream Recorder, first of all I would stop driving myself crazy every morning trying to remember stupid details from my nonsensical dreams.

Secondly, it would be much easier to tell people about my dreams if I remembered all the details. ("So then there was this guy, and he said something but I don't remember what, and I think it was in my old house, like the one I grew up in, not the one I am now, except the wallpaper was purple, I think." The biggest drawback to that is that instead of just having to listen blankly to someone talk about their boring-as-fuck dream, you actually have to watch a boring-as-fuck slideshow.)

Thirdly, hoever, and far more important: If I had a Dream Recorder, I would be so rich. Here is why: I dream stories. Like, entire novels, on occasion. Or movies, I suppose; I do not dream in text. For example, last night? An epic. I actually jumped around to several different points of view, starting with a small girl with her hair in long black braids who was filling her pockets with (on one side) pentacles and crow claws and (on the othe other side) crucifixes and rosaries; a blond teenage boy who for some reason was running with his scientist father through a sleek white laboratory; a man in a beat-up pickup truck driving down twisty rural dirt roads to get away from this plucky female sheriff; and a plucky female sheriff who was chasing a man in a beat-up pickup truck.

The plot revolved, somehow, around Satan trying to take over the world. The nasty li'l devil would actually sort of take over each of the characters I was, and I would do these little things that would facilitate his takeover, and then I would run around trying to undo what I had done. It really was remarkably detailed, and all I need is a simple Dream Recorder to bring back all of these vital and piquant details, whereupon I could transcribe them, sell the book, and make a lot of money, especially when the book gets optioned for a film, starring me.

So, right. Dream Recorder. That is what I want for Chistmas. See what you can do, okay?


Antique ~~~~~~~~~~~~ Modern

Recent Fulminations:
04.25.2004 ~ So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye
04.22.2004 ~ Pulling up stakes
04.20.04 ~ If There Were Any Doubt
04.19.04 ~ Is It Morning Already??
04.19.04 ~ Tedium
Site Meter