The Royal Bedchamber
Vortexy
12.08.03 ~ 14:48

I figured I should probably document this while I am still giddy, and still floating along in a happy stress-free bubble of joy. You know that whole Portable Phone Number thing? Where you can, you know, Port your Phone Number away from your current provider? I just did that. And I am, metaphorically, dancing on the ceiling.

See, my house is, for some reason or another, a Hideous Signal Vortex. This HSV stops me from placing or receiving calls while in my house. You might guess that "in my house" is precisely the location at which I would most like to use my phone. Most times when attempting to do so, either I can hear the other person and they hear me as a series of R2-D2-like whistles and beeps, or vice versa. Apparently my soon-to-be-previous provider, T-Mobile, has a signal tower a block away from me, but it has been out of commission for the past year, with no estimate on when it will be repaired, if ever.

Cue my switch to AT&T. Not only will I get a new provider and a new phone, but my phone will enable me to take both pictures and video wherever I go! And then I can email them to myself and post them up for your entertainment! Wooot!

Also, my phone was FREE due to a judicious application of rebates and special offers. Yee hah for three hundred dollars worth of freeness!

Now I just have to sit back and wait for a) my credit to be declined by AT&T, b) my phone number to be declared ineligible for a switch, c) T-Mobile to hold onto my phone number like the slavering rabid dog that it is, or d) the extremely unlikely result of a trouble-free transfer. Soon, my friends. Soon, I too shall enter the age wherein I can remain in communication with the outside world while still snuggled up in my bed.


Antique ~~~~~~~~~~~~ Modern

Recent Fulminations:
04.25.2004 ~ So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye
04.22.2004 ~ Pulling up stakes
04.20.04 ~ If There Were Any Doubt
04.19.04 ~ Is It Morning Already??
04.19.04 ~ Tedium
Site Meter