The Royal Bedchamber
dainty dainty dainty dainty
03.09.04 ~ 13:26

I have just decided that I am really just hopelessly in love.

I am in love. With a word, you see. I have decided that this word and I are going to be best friends.

Me and "dainty."

dainty and me.

Just look at it.

Go on. Keep looking at dainty.

First of all, how weird is THAT? All of a sudden, that strange "nty" combination just leaps out at you, right? And then there is that oddly heavy-looking "dain" part. Dain? What does that even mean? But somehow, when you combine the dain and the nty into dainty, the heaviness just sloughs off of "dain" and the word magically sprouts little silken-slippered fairy feet, skipping lightly through the dappled glade of language.

And then? Then there is the sound of it. At first it sounds normal. But then repeat it. There are those two delicate little plosive sounds. dainty. It sounds so...so fragile. Just a tiny little slip of the tongue, and your dainty will break. Be careful! Be careful or you will break your dainty! Ohh, poor, tender little dainty.

If you need me, you can find me dancing down the street with my new friend. Tiny diaphanous little dainty.


Antique ~~~~~~~~~~~~ Modern

Recent Fulminations:
04.25.2004 ~ So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye
04.22.2004 ~ Pulling up stakes
04.20.04 ~ If There Were Any Doubt
04.19.04 ~ Is It Morning Already??
04.19.04 ~ Tedium
Site Meter