The Royal Bedchamber
Sometimes I Make Very Bad Choices
01.08.04 ~ 11:26

Flexible and I went out to dinner last night at a place called Blue Ribbon. I had been there once before, and had some obscenely good treats: herring in cream, and escargot bourguignon. I know it sounds weird, but they were both amazing.

So I wanted more herring last night. Apparently the chef was...not happy with the herring? So, sadly, no herring was to be had.

I never thought I would ever be sad about a lack of herring. But you know.

So we ordered up a few different appetizers. Unfortunately, I do not think we made the best possible choices, in terms of both taste, and...well...health. After we got home, poor Flex and I spent the entire night tossing and turning and trying to ignore our stomachaches and raging heartburn.

I guess that just goes to show. Seems that steak tartare, escargot traditional, oxtail marmalade with beef marrow, duck confit, a bottle of wine, three cups of coffee, a glass of port, and a gigantic serving of chocolate chip bread pudding, should not mix.

That lesson should have been clear to me the moment I realized that our appetizers were raw beef, oxtail, bone marrow, and snails.


Antique ~~~~~~~~~~~~ Modern

Recent Fulminations:
04.25.2004 ~ So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye
04.22.2004 ~ Pulling up stakes
04.20.04 ~ If There Were Any Doubt
04.19.04 ~ Is It Morning Already??
04.19.04 ~ Tedium
Site Meter